Laxton Named as Examiner for 2017 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award

June 15, 2017
Perry Gwen Meyers,

The Commerce Department’s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has named Christopher E. Laxton, CAE, Executive Director of AMDA – The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine, to the Board of Examiners for the 2017 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The Baldrige Award is the nation’s highest honor for organizational innovation and performance excellence.

Appointed by the NIST Director, examiners are responsible for reviewing and evaluating applications submitted for the Baldrige Award, as well as other assessment-related tasks. The examiner board is composed of more than 340 leading experts competitively selected from industry, professional, trade, education, health care, and nonprofit (including government) organizations from across the United States.

Those selected meet the highest standards of qualification and peer recognition, demonstrating competencies related to customer focus, communication, ethics, action orientation, team building, and analytical skills. All members of the board must take part in a nationally ranked leadership development course based on the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence and the scoring/evaluation processes for the Baldrige Award.

Christopher E. Laxton, CAE, is a career association professional with over 30 years of experience in health care nonprofit leadership, strategy, governance, and operations. He was appointed Executive Director of the Society in February 2013. Laxton’s prior service includes, most recently, being President of LeadingAge Illinois (formerly Life Services Network), the state association for providers of the full continuum of senior living, and the state affiliate of two national associations: LeadingAge, and Argentum, (formerly the Assisted Living Federation of America). This is his tenth cycle as a Baldrige examiner. “It’s an honor to be selected to serve as an examiner again,” Laxton says. “It’s important not only to recognize organizations for their high-quality performance and the processes that lead to excellence, but also to share those strategies so other organizations may learn from Baldridge Award recipients and improve their competitiveness and sustainability.”

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987. Awards may be given annually to organizations in each of six categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education, health care, and nonprofit. The Award promotes innovation and excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance strategies. Last year, the health care category award went to Kindred Nursing and Rehabilitation–Mountain Valley, Kellogg, Idaho – the first nursing home to win a Baldrige award. Kindred is a corporate member of the Society’s.