Society Honors Visionary Leaders

March 15, 2022

Gaur, Brandt, Wasserman, and Jaggard receive awards

The Foundation for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care (PALTC) Medicine has announced the recipients of its leadership and excellence awards for 2022. Swati Gaur, MD, MBA, CMD, is the Medical Director of the Year. Nicole Brandt, PharmD, MBA, CGP, BCPP, is the first Clinician of the Year. Michael Wasserman, MD, CMD, is the recipient of the William Dodd Founder’s Award for Distinguished Service; and the James Pattee Award for Excellence in Education goes to Peter Jaggard, MD, CMD.

Dr. Gaur is medical director of Horizons Lanier Park and New Horizons Limestone in Georgia, where she is a popular and highly effective leader. She established an antimicrobial stewardship program that implemented the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s core elements, and she established communication protocols for transitions of patients from the hospital. She also created protocols of active surveillance for urinary tract infections, aspiration pneumonia, and gastroenteritis. In addition to developing clinical protocols to optimize the management of common reasons for readmissions, she also was instrumental in helping her facility reduce antipsychotic use to below state and national averages. She is a member of the Society’s Board of Directors and chair of its Infection Advisory Committee.

During the pandemic, Dr. Gaur established mid-morning interdisciplinary meetings to discuss issues and answer questions. She started a reporting and analysis structure for early identification and cohorting of COVID cases, she held virtual town hall meetings, and she developed a communication tool to establish specific COVID-19 goals of care.

“To be effective anyplace in patient care, you need a team. You work with these people day and night, and you share successes. It’s a special relationship. It’s not just me winning this award; it’s my team working by my side,” Dr. Gaur said.

The Foundation established the Clinician of the Year award to recognize a licensed health-care practitioner who is directly involved in treating and caring for people in PALTC settings and embodies excellence in patient care. Dr. Brandt is the inaugural recipient of this award.

Dr. Brandt is a professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science and executive director of the Peter Lamy Center on Drug Therapy and Aging at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy. A past president of the American Society of Senior Care Pharmacists, she also has been active in AMDA – The Society for PALTC Medicine. She has spoken at many AMDA conferences and published articles in Caring for the Ages and JAMDA.

“I am deeply humbled and honored to be recognized by my peers with this award. I have been a practicing pharmacist for nearly 25 years and have dedicated my career to improving medication use and safety for aging adults through education, practice, policy, and scholarly activities,” Dr. Brandt said. “This award and recognition helps to leverage this important aspect of the person-centered care needs as well as the entire care team.”

Dr. Wasserman is a career geriatrician who has served as chief executive officer for a large nursing home chain and was executive director, care continuum, for Health Services Advisory Group, California’s CMS-contracted Quality Improvement Organization. In 2001, he co-founded Senior Care of Colorado. He is an active member of AMDA’s California State Chapter.

Throughout the pandemic, Dr. Wasserman published papers on COVID and spoke at conferences and other programs about the pandemic. He even appeared on national television, where he addressed many misconceptions and inaccurate portrayals of nursing homes and other long-term care facilities.

“It is such an honor to receive this award. I’ve been fortunate to have the opportunity to be one voice during this pandemic, but I’ve been blessed to channel so many of our members. We have worked together every step of the way,” said Dr. Wasserman. 

Dr. Jaggard is medical director of Westminster Place-Presbyterian Homes in Evanston, IL. He previously served as medical director of Lake Forest Place in Lake Forest, IL. Currently, he also is adjunct professor of bioethics at Trinity International University.

An active AMDA member, Dr. Jaggard is past chair of the Ethics Committee. He is a primary author of Society white papers on the Role of the Facility Ethics Committee, Sexual Consent Capacity in Dementia, and Stopping Eating and Drinking by Advance Directives in the ALF and PALTC Setting.

“I am extremely humbled and shocked to be named the Pattee Award recipient. There are so many great teachers at AMDA who reflect the team spirit of the organization,” said Dr. Jaggard. He recalled meeting Dr. Pattee: “I had the privilege of meeting him once, and we talked about his book, which is still timely and relevant today.”

Please go to the Foundation website for more information on the Medical Director of the Year Award, the Clinician of the Year Award, the William Dodd Founder’s Award for Distinguished Service, and the James Pattee Award for Excellence in Education.




About the Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine

\AMDA – The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine is the only medical specialty society representing the community of over 50,000 medical directors, physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other practitioners working in the various post-acute and long-term care (PALTC) settings. Dedicated to defining and improving quality, we advance our mission through timely professional development, evidence-based clinical guidance, and tireless advocacy on behalf of members, patients, families, and staff. Visit for more information.


About the Foundation for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine

The Foundation for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine is an independent not-for-profit organization. The Foundation's mission is: “The Foundation advances the quality of life for persons in post-acute and long-term care (PALTC) through inspiring, educating and recognizing future and current health care professionals." Visit the Foundation at