eCQM Value Sets: Updates for 2019 Reporting and Performance Periods

September 20, 2018
Policy Snapshot

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) published updates to the electronic Clinical Quality Measure (eCQM) value sets to align with recent releases to terminologies, including, ICD-10-CM/PCS, SNOMED CT, LOINC, and RxNorm. This addendum affects the electronic reporting of eCQMs for the following programs:

  • Quality Payment Program: Merit-based Incentive Payment System and Advanced Alternative Payment Models
  • Comprehensive Primary Care Plus
  • Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting
  • Medicare and Medicaid Promoting Interoperability Programs

All changes to the eCQM value sets are available through the NLM Value Set Authority Center website in the download tab. The value sets are available as a complete set, as well as value sets per measure. 

Check out the following resources for more information: