AMDA’s Laxton named to Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Board of Examiners.

August 21, 2018

Christopher E. Laxton, CAE, executive director of AMDA – The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine, has been named to the Board of Examiners for the 2018 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award by the Commerce Department's National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Examiners review and evaluate applications submitted for the Baldrige Award and perform other assessment-related tasks.

The award was established by Congress in 1987 and may be given annually to organizations in each of six categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education, healthcare and nonprofit. It is meant to promote innovation and excellence in organizational performance, recognize the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicize successful performance strategies. NIST manages the award in conjunction with the private sector.

“The society and its members place a premium on organizational excellence and innovation in the post-acute and long-term care setting. ...It is very gratifying to be able to participate in a presidential-level award program that is focused on performance excellence and innovation,” Laxton said.

The examiner board has more than 300 members from industry, professional, trade, education, healthcare, and nonprofit (including government) organizations from across the United States. All members must participate in a leadership development course based on the Baldrige Framework for Performance Excellence and the scoring/evaluation processes for the Baldrige Award. They also must complete an independent review of a Baldrige Award application or other comparable examiner task.