

House of Delegates Meeting Minutes

Thursday, March 9, 2023 Saturday, March 11, 2023

Wayne Saltsman, MD, PhD, CMD, Chair of the House of Delegates called the Thursday, March 7, 2019 session to order at 11:40am.

Karl Steinberg, MD, HMDC, CMD, presented the report of the Nominating Committee including the slate of officers for nomination.

Position Nominees

Vice President: Sabine von Preyss-Friedman, MD, FACP, CMD - Washington

Victoria Walker, MD, FAAFP, CMD – South Dakota

Treasurer: Swati Gaur, MD, MBA, CMD – Georgia

Board Representative From House of **Delegates:**

Julie Gammack MD, CMD – Missouri Lea Watson, MD, MPH - Colorado

Board Representative to

Carl (Christian) Bergman, MD, CMD- Virginia the State President's Council Michael Wasserman, MD, CMD- California

There were no nominations from the floor. The Nominating Chair declared nominations closed.

Candidates were given five minutes each for speeches.

Dr. Saltsman discussed the importance of reading all the resolutions prior to Saturday's meeting as well as making changes to delegates. He also noted that online voting for the delegates was opening following the Thursday meeting and staying open until 11:00am ET on Saturday, March 11, 2023.

The House recessed at 1:00pm ET to reconvene on Saturday, March 11, 2023.

The Chair reconvened the meeting at 3:30pm on Saturday, March 11, 2023. There were 138 delegates seated and a quorum of 92 present throughout the meeting.

The elections for Board Members, positions previously delineated, were carried out by online voting. The online voting asked for each delegate's name to ensure only one vote per delegate. The Board Secretary, Dr. Eber, reviewed the data from the online voting and certified the election results.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the 2022 House of Delegates meeting were then accepted.

The Chair reported on the status of the 2022 resolutions. The official report on the resolutions is located on the House of Delegates website at paltc.org/hod.

Election Results

The Secretary, Dr. Eber, announced the results of the election. The House elected:

Vice President: Sabine von Preyss-Friedman, MD, FACP, CMD - Washington

Treasurer: Swati Gaur, MD, MBA, CMD – Georgia

Board Representative

From House of Delegates: Lea Watson, MD, MPH - Colorado

State Presidents Council Representative: Michael Wasserman, MD, CMD- California

Resolutions

Each resolution was read to the House by the chapter or member who submitted the resolution. The following are the results of each resolution:

Resolution No.	Title	Submitted By	Results
	2023 Bylaws Changes	AMDA Board of Directors	Passed: Hand Count
A23	CMS Wavier for Remote Primary Care Physician Visits	AMDA Telehealth Work Group; New York Medical Directors Association	Passed as amended
B23	Inclusion of Nurses in Survey Teams	The Illinois Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine	Passed: Voice vote
C23	Oversight of Immediate Jeopardy	The Illinois Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine	Referred to the Board as amended
D23	Promotion of Quality of Life in Swallowing Management	AMDA Clinical Issues Subcommittee	Referred to the Board as amended
E23	Protection of Staff and Practitioners in Post-Acute and Long-Term Care from Aggression, Verbal, and Physical Abuse from Residents	Mid-Atlantic Society for Post-acute and Long-Term Care Medicine	Referred to the Board as amended
F23	Goal-Directed Assistance for State Chapters	California Association of Long Term Care Medicine	Failed

Recognitions and grateful acknowledgements were presented to the retiring Society Board Members:

Karl Steinberg, MD, HMDC, CMD, Immediate Past President Suzanne Gillespie, MD, RD, CMD, President Sing Palat, MD, CMD, Representative to the House of Delegates Victoria Walker, MD, FAAFP, CMD Representative to the State President's Council

There being no further new business, the Saturday, March 11th session was adjourned at 5:30pm