Society Announces 2018-2019 Board of Directors

April 16, 2018

Columbia, MD-- AMDA—The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine elected its 2018-2019 Board of Directors during their House of Delegates meeting at their Annual Conference. Cari Levy, MD, PhD, CMD, now serves as President, Arif Nazir, MD, FACP, CMD, AGSE serves as President-Elect and David A.Nace, MD, MPH, CMD was elected to Vice President.

Dr. Levy is a geriatrician and Certified Medical Director with board certification in Hospice and Palliative Medicine. In her role as Associate Director of the Denver-Seattle Center for Veteran-Centric and Value-Driven Care, she works with over 30 health services researchers dedicated to improving care for veterans. She also is participating in a Quality Enhancement Research Initiative Program to evaluate the new VA Life Sustaining Treatment Initiative in long-term care. A Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, she is a prolific researcher whose main focus is end-of-life care. A graduate of Pepperdine University, she received her medical degree from the University of Colorado. She began her internal medicine residency at Vanderbilt University and served as Chief Resident there. She then returned to Colorado for a geriatrics fellowship.

A long-time active Society member, Dr. Levy has been a volunteer and leader who has taken on many roles. She has served on numerous committees, published many articles in JAMDA, and served as Co-Chair of the Foundation’s Futures Program, designed to introduce practitioners to careers in post-acute and long-term care medicine. She herself is a Futures Program alumna.

Arif Nazir, MD, CMD, is a geriatrician and Chief Medical Officer for Signature HealthCare, where he oversees delivery of innovative clinical programs in more than 115 skilled facilities across 10 states. Among his previous roles, he provided leadership as medical director of a unique Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) innovation project, OPTIMISTIC, that significantly reduced avoidable hospitalizations of long-stay nursing home patients in 19 Indiana facilities. He has served as Society Treasurer and Chair of the Innovation and Implementation workgroup. He is widely published in JAMDA and other peer-reviewed journals, and he has presented at Society conferences and other regional and national platforms.

Dr. Nace, MD, MPH, CMD, is an Associate Professor of Medicine in the Division of Geriatric Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh. He serves as the Director of LTC and Influenza Programs for the division and as Chief of Medical Affairs for UPMC Senior Communities. In addition to having an active clinical practice, Dr. Nace is an investigator in a number of long-term care research projects, with a special focus on antimicrobial stewardship and infections in older adults. Dr. Nace serves as Vice Chair of AMDA’s Public Policy Committee, is a member of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practice’s (ACIP) Hepatitis Workgroup, a member of the National Influenza/Adult Immunization Summit, and Co-Medical Director of the UPMC RAVEN project, a CMS innovation award project seeking to reduce unplanned nursing home admissions.

The 2018-2019 Board is rounded out by:

Secretary: Rajeev Kumar, MD, CMD, FACP, Chicago, IL (Newly Elected)

Treasurer: Jeffrey N. Nichols, MD, CMD, New York, NY (Returning)

Chair, House of Delegates: Suzanne Gillespie, MD, RD, CMD, Rochester, NY (Reappointed)

State Presidents Council Representatives: John Potomski, DO, CMD, Melbourne, FL (Newly Elected); Mary P. Evans, MD, CMD, Charlottesville, VA (Returning); Milta O. Little, DO, CMD, St. Louis, MO (Returning)

House of Delegates Representative: Alice Bonner, PhD, APRN, GNP, Westborough, MA (Newly Elected); Randi Ellen Berkowitz, MD, CMD, Boston, MA (Returning); Wayne S. Saltsman, MD, MPH, CMD, Burlington, MA (Returning)

Immediate Past-President: Heidi White, MD, MHS, MEd, CMD, Durham, NC

“We are very pleased to have such a talented, experienced, knowledgeable group of professionals to lead our organization in the coming year. Their passion for their patients, their work, and their profession shines through in all they do; and I am confident that we will make great strides under their guidance,” says AMDA Executive Director Chris Laxton, CAE. Not only does the Board include many national leaders and innovators, Dr. Bonner is the first nurse practitioner to be elected to the Board since non-physician practitioners became eligible for full membership four years ago.


AMDA – The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine is the only medical specialty society representing the community of over 50,000 medical directors, physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other practitioners working in the various post-acute and long-term care (PALTC) settings. Dedicated to defining and improving quality, we advance our mission through timely professional development, evidence-based clinical guidance, and tireless advocacy on behalf of members, patients, families, and staff. Visit for more information.